Caerwen Martin


Caerwen (MMusPerHons) is a cellist and composer/performer who works both nationally and internationally as a new music specialist and improviser. Caerwen has worked at most of Australia’s major festivals and venues and with many of Australia’s top musicians and actors. Current ensembles include Arcko Symphonic, Silo String Quartet, Bolt Ensemble, Ruth Roshan Tango Noir, and The Elissa Goodrich Birds Duo. Caerwen is the artistic director of Silo String Quartet which she founded in 1998. Caerwen also teaches primary, secondary and tertiary level.

Composer websites:,

Featured Works

Hellow, for cello and answering machine.
Composed for the Adelaide Biennale 2004 for the film Reception by James Geurts.

The piece Hellow is a one work film score for the art film Reception by James Geurts. It was featured in the Adelaide Biennale 2005. The film highlights the unheard voices of refugees in Australia.

Featured in Experimental Waves – May 2016 (1/05/2016)

I sleep alone, for soprano and string quartet.

The string quartet are a dream state and the singer longs to be asleep to see her love. a graphic score with some traditional notation for the vocalist.

Featured in Vocal Waves (September 2017).