Daniel Schricker


Daniel Schricker (b. 1990) is a composer based in Adelaide. He completed his undergraduate studies in composition at the Elder Conservatorium of Music in 2012 and is currently completing a PhD in the same field, supervised by Graeme Koehne and Charles Bodman Rae. His music has been performed by the Australian String Quartet, the Elder Conservatorium Symphony Orchestra, the Adelaide Youth Sinfonia, the Eclectica Trio, and the Elder Conservatorium Brass Ensemble.

Composer website:  https://soundcloud.com/

Featured Works

…of sorrow, joy, and dancing, for Orchestra.

I have always been particularly drawn to the Jewish folk music tradition due to its vivid expression of joy and sorrow. This piece is consequently an exploration of the sound world found in the klezmer music of Eastern Europe. The title is a reference to a verse from an Old Testament Psalm attributed to the Jewish king, David: ‘You have turned my mourning into joyful dancing. You have taken away my clothes of mourning and clothed me with joy’. (Psalm 30.11)

Featured in Orchestral Waves (November 2018).