Jakob Bragg


Jakob Bragg (b. 1990) is an Australian composer drawing strong influences from the avant-garde and contemporary classical music. Graduating from the Queensland Conservatorium of Music in composition, Jakob is now undertaking his Masters degree at the University of Melbourne with the support of an Australian Postgraduate Award.

Jakob has been awarded an array of prizes including the Adolph Spivakovsky, Sydney Eisteddfod, A.G. Francis, Silver Harris & Jeff Peck prizes, and the Owen Fletcher Postgraduate award. His works have been performed by the Queensland Philharmonia Orchestra, Australian Youth Orchestra (National Music Camp), Kupka’s Piano, The Australian Voices, the Queensland Saxophone Orchestra, and an array of small ensembles and soloists. Jakob has received lessons from Australia’s most distinguished composers including Gerard Brophy, Stuart Greenbaum, Elliott Gyger, and Liza Lim.

Composer website:  jakobbragg.wordpress.com

Featured Works

Atmosphoria, for orchestra.

Atmosphoria is a portmanteau of ‘atmosphere’ and ‘euphoria’; depicting a typical hot and humid, summer Brisbane night.

Featured in Experimental Waves – May 2016 (1/05/2016)