Dariusz Przybylski


Dariusz Przybylski is an author of operas, symphonic and vocal works, and chamber music. He received a diploma in composition in 2010 (Solistenexamen) with Prof. Wolfgang Rihm at the Hochschule für Musik Karlsruhe and PhD (Music Theory and Composition) at the Chopin University of Music in Warsaw, where he has taught since 2008. From 2003 to 2008 he completed composition and organ studies at the Chopin University in Warsaw, composition with Prof. Marcin Blazewicz, organ with Prof. Andrzej Chorosinski. In 2006/07 Dariusz studied composition with Prof. Krzysztof Meyer and York Höller, and organ with Prof. Johannes Geffert at the Hochschule für Musik Köln.

Scholarships include the Polish Minister of Culture, the DAAD, the Deutsche Bank Foundation – Academy Opera Today, the International Ensemble Modern Academy. During 2007-2010 Dariusz was promoted by the Krzysztof Penderecki European Music Centre. He has won numerous awards in composition contests, given guest lectures in New York, Hamburg, Rome, Istanbul and Moscow and during 2010/11 was the visiting Professor of composition at Keimyung University in Daegu, South Korea. He was also the composer in residence at the kofomi Composers’ Forum in Mittersill 2009 (Austria), International Composers’ Academy Bad Ischl 2010 (Austria), Scratch Cantatas Festival in 2012 Niznhyi Novgorod (Russia), 2012/13 at the Vocalensemble Phoenix16 – Berlin.

Composer’s works are available in Verlag Neue Musik, Berlin.


Composer website:  www.dariuszprzybylski.eu/

Featured Works

Morpheus, Performed by Morpheus Saxophone Quartet

First performed on 12.05.2005, Chopin Academy of Music in Warsaw by the AMFC Saxophone Quartet

Featured in Polish Waves (Special Edition August 2018)