Christopher Healey


Christopher completed his Bachelor of Music at the Queensland Conservatorium Griffith University, receiving the Alan Lane and A.G. Francis prizes for his compositions. He went on to complete his Honours degree at the University of Queensland, achieving First Class honours and being the recipient of the Dean’s Award for Academic Excellence. He is currently completing his PhD in Composition at the University of Queensland and the recipient of an Australian Postgraduate Award for the duration of his studies.
Chris’ music has been performed  throughout Australia, as well as in Holland and France. His professional work includes commissions from The Camerata of St John’s, The Australian Piano Duo Festival, the Brisbane City Council for its ‘Street Reads’ project, and many others, including several commissions from individual supporters.

Composer website:  via Soundcloud.


Springtime Dances, Winter Weeps, for solo flute.

When confronted with the need for more music to fill a rapidly approaching concert program, I contacted flutist Brijette Tubb to see if she would be willing to learn something on short notice. She very kindly agreed – and I very frantically got to composing, as the music had not yet been written.

Four days later ‘Springtime Dance, Winter Weeps’ was affixed with a double bar line and sent to Brijette for her appraisal. Along with the music I sent her a profuse apology about the difficulty of the music, as much of my music ends up far more virtuosic in nature than I intend when starting out – and this piece was no exception.

To my great delight, excitement and amazement she was completely and utterly undeterred. The performance, just two weeks later, was a tremendous success.
Springtime Dances, Winter Weeps is a work of contracts with two starkly different musical feels; it captures the bleakness of winter and the feverish play of spring. It is a virtuosic work that is a great contribution to the flute’s solo repertoire, and one which can be at home in a wide variety of concert programs.

Featured in Long Waves – August 2016

No. 3 from Six Piano Miniatures, for piano.

Featured in the playlist:  Dream Waves (1/12/2017)